Understanding Cash and Fire Ratings

Many of Burton safes have been independently tested and certified by recognised testing authorities to ensure a range of high quality safes which meet the requirements of both the consumer and the insurance industry.

Cash Rating

A cash rating refers to how much your insurance company will underwrite the contents of your safe for. If the rating is £1,000 then the safe is suitable for storing up to £1,000 in cash or ten times this sum in valuables i.e. £10,000.

Cash ratings quoted are a guide only and assume correct installation. Individual insurance companies rating may vary and therefore it is important to check with your provider before you purchase a safe.

Cash ratings can be used as a general guide to the security level of your safe. The higher the cash rating the higher the security level of your safe is and therefore the more you can safely keep inside it.

There are several independent testing houses which are authorised to carry out tests against set industry standards. Below are the main certification bodies and their relevant gradings which can be found on many of Burton security safes.

European Certification Board. Security. The ECB.S is the accredited certification body for security products within Europe. Testing by the ECB.S is based on simulating modern burglary techniques. A safe is graded on a score which is derived from what tools were used and how long it took to gain access to the contents inside. Below is a list of the grades and their respective cash ratings as agreed by the insurance industry.

EN 11450 S1 / S2 £2,000 / £4,000 EN 1143-1 Grade 3 £35,000
EN 1143-1 Grade 0 £6,000 EN 1143-1 Grade 4 £60,000
EN 1143-1 Grade 1 £10,000 EN 1143-1 Grade 5 £100,000
EN 1143-1 Grade 2 £17,500 EN 1143-1 Grade 6 £150,000

Sold Secure
Sold Secure is an independent testing house run by the Master Locksmiths Association with close ties to the Police and Insurers. Their sole objective is the assessment of security products through manual attack testing. Sold Secure approval is classified into three main grades: Bronze, Silver and Gold. The higher the grading (Bronze being the lowest) the higher the security provided by the product.

Fire Ratings
A fire resistant rating refers to the duration in minutes that contents within a safe will remain protected from excessive heat and fire. Ratings are split into 30, 60, 90 and 120 minute increments.

As paper and data corrupts at different temperatures there are two main categories of fire safes, Document Safes and Data Safes. Document Safes must maintain an internal temperature below 177°C (350°F), which is the temperature at which paper chars/combusts. Data Safes on the other hand must maintain an internal temperature below 52°C as well as a maximum 85% humidity.

Below are the main certification bodies recognised in the safe and insurance industry who run rigorous fire tests. All Burton fire safes have been tested and certified to either the NT Fire 017 or UL 72 standards.

SP is an independent research institute in Sweden which tests and certifies fire resistant safes. The certification is based on the Nordtest (NT Fire 017) which focuses on fire endurance. Safes and cabinets are tested in furnaces in temperatures up to and over 1000°C.

The Underwriters Laboratories (UL) is an independent testing house based in America. Any safe which has been certified by the UL has been tested against and met the UL 72 testing standard. The testing standard looks at impact, explosion and fire endurance.